Stephanie Lonergan, Jean Stover, Vic Mann, Val Hazen, Dan Close, Tim Block, Steve Carmichael, Joan Rawlings-Boyd, Polly Shannon, Georgia Quick, May Otten (1-16-23)

Our governance is “congregational,” which means that the members own the church and make all major decisions about money, mission, and staffing. We are Open and Affirming (ONA) which is the United Church of Christ’s (UCC) designation for congregations, campus ministries, and other bodies in the UCC which make a public covenant of welcome into their full life and ministry to persons of all sexual orientations, gender identities, and gender expressions.

The Board meets once a month and in addition, each member also serves on one or more standing committees or task forces.  

The Board provides ongoing spiritual and missional leadership, planning, program evaluation, and fiscal oversight.  In congregational meetings budgets are presented, priorities are discussed, and leadership is elected.

Each spring, it is the responsibility of the Nominating Committee to provide nominees for all vacancies on the board for approval by the FCC Eugene members at the June Congregational Meeting. Recommendations for the board can be sent to the Nominating Committee in the spring during open enrollment. Per the church bylaws, board members must be members of FCC Eugene. There are 11 members of the board: 9 Board Members (with staggered 3-year terms), plus the Moderator (1-year term) and Moderator-Elect (1-year term). Note that the Moderator-Elect will become Moderator the following year.

Current Board Members, terms end June 30th:

  • Laurie Swanson Gribskov, 2025, Moderator
  • Martha Pitts, 2025, Moderator-Elect
  • Valerie Hazen, 2025
  • Vic Mann, 2025
  • Joan Rawlings-Boyd, 2025
  • Tim Bloch, 2026
  • Georgia Quick 2026
  • Kimberley Parzuchowski, 2026
  • Tony Foy, 2027
  • Bonnie Garcia, 2027
  • Jon Stout, 2027
  • Larry Flick, Treasurer
  • Stephanie Lonergan, Secretary/Clerk